



International Conference for Peace and Sustainable Growth

17 & 18 June, 2024 | Athens Conservatoire

DAY ONE

Monday, June 17 2024

12.30 ARRIVAL OF GUESTS - REGISTRATION

13.15 WELCOME - OPENING REMARKS

Maria Nikoltsiou, Conference Presenter; Journalist, Alpha TV Evangelos Kalpadakis, Coordinator, Alexis Tsipras Institute Venko Filipče, Director, Zaev Foundation – One Society for All

13.30 SESSION ONE

Whither Europe (and Greece)? Growth and social cohesion challenges.

Paolo Gentiloni, European Commissioner of Economy, Prime Minister of Italy (2016-2018) **George Chouliarakis**, Advisor to the Governor, Bank of Greece; Alternate Minister of Finance (2015-2019) **Nikos Vettas**, General Director, Foundation for Economic and Industrial Research (IOBE); Professor, Athens University of Economics and Business

Fay Makantasi, Research Director, DiaNEOsis

Evgenia Fotoniata, Co-ordinator, Economy and Society, ENA Institute for Alternate Policies

Chair: Antonis Papagiannidis, Lawyer - Journalist

15.00 SESSION TWO

Regional developments in the Eastern Mediterranean and Southeast Europe. What are the prospects for peace and stability after the wars in Gaza and Ukraine?

1

Angelina Eichhorst, Managing Director, European External Action Service (EEAS)

Jens Plötner, Foreign and Security Policy Advisor of the Chancellor of Germany

Mustafa Aydin, President, International Relations Council of Turkey

Sotiris Roussos, Professor, International Relations in the Middle East and the Mediterranean

Barak Ravid, Journalist, CNN political and foreign policy analyst (online)

Chair: Constantinos Filis, Professor and Director, ACG Institute of Global Affairs, American College of Greece

16.30 BREAK

17.30 AWARD CEREMONY

Antonio Guterres, Secretary General, United Nations (UN) (video message)

Awarding of the Prespa Peace Award from the former Prime Ministers Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev to Matthew Nimetz, UN Special Representative for the name issue (1994-2019)

17.45 SESSION THREE

The negotiations leading up to the Agreement and its implementation six years on. Is the Prespa Agreement a model for resolving disputes peacefully?

Nikos Kotzias, Minister of Foreign Affairs (2015-2018)

Nikola Dimitrov, President and co-founder of the Balkan Center for Constructive Policies-Solution; Deputy Prime Minister for European Affairs (2017-2020), North Macedonia

Matthew Nimetz, UN Special Representative for the name issue (1994-2019)

Chair: **Marilena Koppa**, Professor of Comparative Politics, Department of European, International and Area Studies, Panteion University

19.15 DISCUSSION ON THE PRESPA AGREEMENT

Alexis Tsipras, Prime Minister of Greece (2015-2019) Zoran Zaev, Prime Minister of North Macedonia (2017-2022)

Chair: Niki Limperaki, Journalist, MEGA TV

19.45 SESSION FOUR

The accession perspective of the Western Balkans and its importance for the future of Europe. Are we in a period of stagnation or building new momentum?

Milos Vucevic, Prime Minister of Serbia

George Papandreou, Prime Minister of Greece (2009-2011)

Vlado Bučkovski, Prime Minister of North Macedonia (2004-2006)

Igli Hasani, Minister of Europe and Foreign Affairs of Albania

Miroslav Lajcak, EU Special Representative for the Belgrade-Pristina Dialogue and Western Balkans

Chair: **Nektaria Stamouli**, Deputy editor in chief KATHIMERINI English edition, Eastern Mediterranean correspondent, POLITICO Europe

21.15 END OF DAY ONE

DAY TWO

Tuesday, June 18 2024

11.30 REGISTRATION

12.30 SESSION FIVE

Geopolitical developments and the role of international organizations in managing crises and ensuring peace

Margaritis Schinas, Vice President for Promoting our European Way of Life, European Commission **Theodoros Roussopoulos**, President of the Parliamentary Assembly, Council of Europe

Bassim Khoury, Former Minister of National Economy (2009), Palestine

Humberto Costa, Vice President, Workers Party (PT), President, Social Affairs Committee of Federal Senate, Brazil

Menelaos Menelaou, Greek Cypriot Negotiator for the Cyprus Problem, Cyprus **Ilina Mangova**, Country Director, International Republican Institute, North Macedonia

Chair: Kaki Bali, Journalist, AVGI

14.00 SESSION SIX

Climate crisis and sustainable growth. How can challenges related to the fair transition towards the green agenda be addressed?

Maroš Šefčovič, Executive VP for the European Green Deal; Commissioner for Climate Action (video message) Ekrem Imamoglu, Mayor of Istanbul, Turkey (video message)

Haris Doukas, Mayor of Athens, Greece

Julian Popov, Fellow, European Climate Foundation; Minister of Environment and Water (2023-2024), Bulgaria

David Livingston, Senior Advisor in the office of the Special Presidential Envoy for Climate, John Kerry (online)

Manolis Plionis, Director and President of the Board of Directors, National Observatory of Athens Maria Vassilakou, Founder, Vienna Solutions; Deputy Mayor and Deputy Governor of Vienna (2010-2019), Austria

Chair: Harry Tzimitras, Director, Cyprus Centre, Peace Research Institute Oslo, Cyprus

Conversation of **Harry Tzimitras** with **Geoffrey Pyatt**, Assistant Secretary of State for Energy Resources, U.S. Department of State (*online*)

15.30 SESSION SEVEN

Europe and the rise of far-right and nationalist forces. Which policies can help confront them?

Metron Analysis Research and Choose Strategic Communications Partner, Presentation by **Stratos Fanaras, Yiannis Balampanidis**

Chair: Maria Nikoltsiou, Journalist, Alpha TV

16.00

Martin Schulz, President and Chairman, Friedrich-Ebert Foundation (FES); President of the European Parliament (2012-2017) (*online*)

Elly Schlein, Secretary, Democratic Party (PD), Italy (online)

Stefanos Stefanou, General Secretary, Progressive Party of Working People (AKEL), Cyprus Walter Baier, Leader of the Party of the European Left, candidate for the European Commission Ska Keller, Member of the Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance, European Parliament Magnús Skjöld, Liaison for International Affairs, Social Democratic Alliance, Icelandic Parliament, Iceland

Alice Barbe, Director General, Académie Des Futurs Leaders, France

Chair: Elaine Papoulias, Executive Director of the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies (CES), Harvard University, USA

17.30

BREAK

19.00

ARRIVAL OF GUESTS

20.00 SESSION EIGHT - FINAL REMARKS

The future of Europe

Francois Hollande, President of France (2012-2017) (online)

Stefan Löfven, Prime Minister of Sweden (2014-2021)

Yolanda Diaz, Second Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Labour and Social Economy, President, Sumar, Spain (*video message*)

Zoran Zaev, Prime Minister of North Macedonia (2017-2022)

Alexis Tsipras, Prime Minister of Greece (2015-2019)

Chair: Dora Anagnostopoulou, Journalist, MEGA TV

21.30 END OF CONFERENCE